Google Ads

GK update February 2016

The venue of the National Conference on Sustainable Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare attended by PM Narendra Modi as chief guest – Gangtok
● Winners of the women’s doubles title of the Brisbane International 2016 – Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis
● Winner of men’s singles title of the Brisbane International 2016 – Milos Raonic ● The present governor of J&K where President rule was imposed recently – Narinder Nath Vohra
● The state where Jallikattu or bull-taming sport is played during Pongal festival – Tamil Nadu
● The indigenously designed anti-submarine warfare which was commissioned into the Indian Navy in Visakhapatnam – INS Kadmatt
● The new Chairman of the fair-trade regulator Competition Commission of India (CCI) – Devender Kumar Sikri
● The MD and CEO of Axis Bank who has been selected as the Business Standard Banker of the Year for 2014-15 – Shikha Sharma
● The new Registrar General and Census Commissioner of India – Sailesh
● The Indo-French military exercise which was conducted in Rajasthan recently – Shakti-2016
● The ministry recently merged by the Govt with the external affairs ministry – Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs (MOIA)
● The person recently reappointed as RBI deputy governor for three years – Urjit Patel
● The country whose army contingent will be a part of the Republic Day parade 2016 for the first time in history – France
● The initiative to expose youth from J&K to the rest of the country – Wattan Ko Jano
● The reservation for women approved by the Union Home Ministry in Central armed police forces at constable-level positions – 33 per cent
● The deadline by which the Central Govt has decided to implement Bharat Stage (BS) VI emission norms – Apr 1, 2020
● The new Chairman and Managing Director of Madras Fertilizers – AB Khare
● The multi-barrel rocket launcher recently tested by the Indian Army – Pinaka II ● The present Executive Secretary of CTBT Organization – Lassina Zerbo
● The young cricketer from Mumbai who recently scored an unbeaten 1009 – Pranav Dhanawade
● The bank on which the RBI recently imposed a penalty of `1 cr – State Bank of Travancore
 Winner of the Best Woman Cricketer Award in senior player category for the season 2014-15 at the BCCI annual awards – Mitali Raj
● The venue of the Under-19 World Cup Cricket Tournament – Bangladesh
● The J&K Chief Minister and former Union Home Minister who recently passed away – Mufti Mohammad Sayeed
● The country which recently claimed to have tested a thermonuclear or hydrogen bomb – North Korea
● The present MD and CEO of Punjab National Bank – Usha Ananthasubramanian ● Winner of the Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award – Syed Kirmani
● The country with which a bus service restarted on 4 Jan after a gap of 27 years – Nepal
● Winner of the 2015 Costa Novel Prize for her novel A God in Ruins – Kate Atkinson
● The former Chief Justice of India who passed away recently – Sarosh Homi Kapadia
● Winner of the 26th Lal Bahadur Shastri hockey tournament title – ONGC
● The new UN High Commissioner for Refugees – Filippo Grandi
● The country which recently slashed the price of gas it supplies to India by almost half – Qatar
● The chairman of the Supreme Court-appointed Committee on reforms in BCCI – RM Lodha
● The biggest investor ($2.58 bn) in Indian businesses in 2015 – Tiger Global Management
● The two PSBs which jointly won the award for ‘Cheque Truncation System’ under the mid-sized category at the ‘National Payments Excellence Awards 2015’ – Corporation Bank and Indian Bank
● The new Chief Information Commissioner (CIC) – RK Mathur
● The new CEO of the IT major Wipro – Abidali Neemuch

No comments

Powered by Blogger.